A Study on Angels (3 Parts)

Part I: Creation and Purpose

Angels are mentioned 273 times throughout the Old and New Testaments, and other ancient-related records because God wants us to be knowledgeable about their purpose. He created the angels following the initial Genesis of Earth to glorify Him (as were we, Gen. 2). Angels are spiritual beings above us temporarily until we reach Heaven. They are subject to Christ and they neither marry nor die and we are cautioned not to worship them. Angels are also called messengers, Watchers, military hosts, Sons of the Mighty, and Sons of God (I Peter 3: 22; Luke 20: 36; Matt. 22: 30; Rev. 4:8; Heb. 1: 16; Col. 2:18; Rev. 22: 8-9).

Description of Angels

When most of us think of angels, we envision handsome, quite tall, blonde male figures dressed in long white robes and adorned with a pair of beautifully-feathered long wings. While this may be the description of some angles, it does not describe all of them. There is a hierarchy of angles whose assignments and positions are determined by God. There are nine levels of angels that will be discussed. They are as follows according to rank: 

Seraphim: In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly. And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord of hosts: the whole earth is full of his glory… (Isiah 6; Job 38:7; Rev. 4: 8; Rev. 5:11-12). Angels (Sons of God) were with God at the Creation

Cherubim: Then I looked, and, behold, in the firmament that was above the head of the cherubims there appeared over them as it were a sapphire stone, as the appearance of the likeness of a throne. And he spake unto the man clothed with linen, and said, Go in between the wheels, even under the cherub, and fill thine hand with coals of fire from between the cherubims, and scatter them over the city. And he went in in my sight. Now the cherubims stood on the right side of the house, when the man went in; and the cloud filled the inner court. … (Ezek. 10).

Archangels of Thrones, Dominions or Lordships, Virtues of Strongholds, Powers of Authorities, and Principalities of Rulers: For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him (Colossians 1:16).

Archangels: The archangels are listed in ancient Hebrew Scriptures: The seven Archangels that are talked about come from Jewish writings of 250 BC in the Book of Watchers, which were merged with other writings to create what we know as the book of Enoch, and used in Orthodox Ethiopian Christian Cannon (one of the first Christian movements in the world); but was omitted by the Roman Catholic Western Cannon around 700 AD, and considered heretical due to the confusion over the order of chapters, parables and visions inserted in the wrong places. References to the seven archangels are found in the book of Enoch, Dead Sea Scrolls and Tobit. Note that the names may differ depending on text eg: Zadkiel also known as Sachiel. New and more accurate translations are available with the material in the proper order.                   http://scriptural-truth.com/stuff/BookOfEnoch.pdf

Chief Archangel Michael is especially considered to be the Guardian of the Orthodox Faith and a fighter against heresies, and a military commander. His name in Hebrew means “Who is equal to God?” Yet Michael the archangel, when contending with the devil he disputed about the body of Moses, durst not bring against him a railing accusation, but said, The Lord rebuke thee (Jude 9). He is associated with protecting and being a leader of God’s army

Archangel Gabriel is the messenger of God and whose name means “God is my strength.” He is in care of the mysteries of God.

Archangel Raphael is associated with healing. His name means “It is God who heals.”

Archangel Uriel’s name means “God is my light,” and who is usually seen as an angel of repentance.

Archangel Jophiel is the angel of justice, wisdom and understanding.

Archangel Zadkiel is associated with freedom, benevolence and mercy.

Archangel Cameal is associated with strength, courage and war.

God created the chief angels in this order: Michael, Lucifer, Raphael, and Gabriel. The three angels in Rev. 14: 6-12 are believed to be preparing the world for the Second Coming. Lucifer was guardian of the throne and in charge of music


Part II: Exploring the angels and fallen angels listed in the Book of Enoch.

Part III: The Nature of Angels

Sources for Part I:

Elwell, Walter A. “Entry for ‘Angel.” (1997). Evangelical Dictionary of Theology.

Life Application study Bible. (NIV, 2005). Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Wheaton, Illinois

And Zondervan Publishing House, Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Luginbill, Robert Dr. (n.d.). Angelology: the study of angels.

New King James Version Study Bible. (2007). Pub. Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Leave a Reply